Tarot Card Reading

What is Tarot card reading?

Tarot card reading is the usage of tarot cards and deciphering its meaning to predict a possible outcome. Moreover, tarot card reading is not an act of looking into the future. Additionally, tarot card reading provides its user with lot of information about the present. Also, when the user becomes fully aware of the present, he or she gains the potential to change their way of thinking and acting. Finally, the hope that it transforms the future, helps the user to become content.

All in all, there are 78 tarot cards. Especially, in the 18th century, tarot cards were used for occult and divination purposes. Meanwhile, its role was limited to that of ordinary playing cards in the 15th century.


How do Tarot cards work?

Generally, in a one-to-one session, there are 2 people involved: the Tarot card reader, and other one is the seeker.


  1. Shuffle the Tarot card deck properly. Also, you should lay the deck upsidedown on a table and spread it in a semicircle.
  2. Moreover, depending on the nature of a query that the seeker/client places, the number of cards to be chosen is decided. Besides, it can be a 1 card solution or multi-card solution. Generally, the client has the privilege to choose the cards.
  3. All in all, depending on the positivity or resemblance of the card, the reader answers to the client's query. Also, it is important to understand that each and every card has a unique nature and different meanings associated with it.

Let's understand this in detail....

Generally, a tarot card deck consist of 2 sections; the minor arcana and the major arcana.

The Minor Arcana cards depicts trivial and daily happenings and events occurring in an individual's life. Moreover, the Major Arcana depicts larger and profound lessons that have a significant role in life.

Minor Arcana Tarot Cards

The Minor Arcana comprises of 56 cards in the 78-card Tarot deck. Generally, in Minor Arcana, there are four suits with 14 cards each. Also, each suit consists of 14 cards, and are numbered from 1 (Ace) to 10. Furthermore, these 10 cards are known as 'Pip' cards. It is followed by four 'Court' cards, the King, Queen, Knight and Page.

Additionally, each suit comes under the category of a symbol, such as, a Pentacle, Wand, Cup, or Sword.


  • Suit of Cups
    This is analogous to the Water element.
    Represents: Emotions and Feelings.
  • Suit of Pentacles
    This is analogous to the Earth element.
    Represents: Health, Money and Finance.
  • Suit of Swords
    This is analogous to the Air element.
    Represents: Knowledge and Intellect.
  • Suit of Wands
    This is analogous to the Fire element.
    Represents: Inspiration and Ambition.


Major Arcana Tarot Cards

The Major Arcana or trumps comprises of 22 cards in the 78-card Tarot deck. Furthermore, the Major Arcana, are numbered from 0 to 21. Additionally, each Major Arcana depicts a scene, which features one or more person, with many symbolic elements.


  • The Fool
    Represents: New start and initiative.
  • The Magician
    Represents: Innovation and creativity.
  • The High Priestess
    Represents: Luck, Secret and Mysticism.
  • The Empress
    Represents: Pillar of stability, bond and feminine power.
  • The Emperor
    Represents: Pillar of strength, rules and masculine power.
  • The Hierophant
    Represents: Belief, tradition and religion.
  • The Lovers
    Represents: Maturity, relationship and love.
  • The Chariot
    Represents: Willpower, determination and victory.
  • Strength
    Represents: Courage, passions, strength, confidence, patience and compassion.
  • The Hermit
    Represents: Inquisitive nature and seeker.
  • Wheel of Fortune
    Represents: Destiny.
  • Justice
    Represents: Truthfulness, law and justice.
  • The Hanged Man
    Represents: Aimless and no objective.
  • Death
    Represents: End and completion.
  • Temperance
    Represents: Great balance and strength between the different areas and people in your life that are working together.
  • The Devil
    Represents: Behaviour, desire, fear compulsion and addiction.
  • The Tower
    Represents: Disruption and Obstruction.
  • The Star
    Represents: Optimism, hope and happiness.
  • The Moon
    Represents: Illusion, insecurity and anxiety.
  • The Sun
    Represents: Success, joy, warmth and happiness.
  • Judgement
    Represents: Action, responsibility, act and impartial nature.
  • The World
    World is the final Major Arcana card Represents: Goal, destination, fulfilment and successful completion of an objective.

Myths about Tarot card reading

  • You cannot read your own tarots
    This is a myth and a false belief. Moreover, you can definitely learn and practice reading your own tarot cards.
  • Tarot card predictions are always true
    Tarot card reading is for effectively understanding the present. Consequently, tarot card doesn't predict the future. Also, it enables you to understand what is going right/wrong you, and how you can change it. However, by no means is tarot cards one hundred percent accurate.
  • Other people shouldn't touch your tarot cards
    This an outright superstition. Coincidentally, it is just that, some people are careful and conservative enough on not letting others to touch their cards. Hence, this is a made up story and thus, a false belief.